City versus The Rags

Sorry it’s been a while since I posted but I’ve had stuff to do and work and, oh you know how it is!!!

The trip to The Theatre of shite looms and I’m so glad those bastards can’t win the league if they beat us next week. Not that I’m admitting defeat already, but it’s a long shot for us now, and we all know what can ah pen to long shots, they either fly in, or in the top of the stand. I’m hoping for a screamer but don’t hold your breath.

This week has brought soon good news for City in the signing of the new four year deal for Yaya Toure, well done big lad, so glad you’ve signed on to the end of your career with us. Read his post signing interview and he has some really good stuff to say about both the club and the fans, it’s mutual Yaya!!

We do now have the spine of the team coming back, with Vinnie now being back from injury and looking decent enough against the bar codes last week, even if he didnt play the whole game, it’s good to see him coming back and fit to play. All this bollox about him and Mancini falling out, for me is part and parcel of what goes on in a club where the players are all seasoned internationals and we all know how much playing for Belgium means to Vinnie. I have a feeling if Mancini was really that bothered the club would have come to an arrangement with Belgium as it turned out the run out did him good and it’s mo game time on the road to full fitness.

The game at the Theatre of Shite does have some significance to both teams, the rags won’t want to lose so we don’t make up any ground, and we have nothing to lose in terms of dropping out of the title race as we are not really still in it. The teams behind us in the league keep dropping points and for me the crucial game in the race for second place comes at Spurs in a couple of weeks. Win at OT and at WHL and we are more or less certain of second place in my view.

For me the game on Monday has an edge for the City players in that it’s a chance to show that they are still up for the fight and are not a flash in the pan. I for one think that this all bodes well for the game and the motivation for the players. Vinnie back, Yaya fresh from his contract signing, should all be motivating factors for City as I expect United to play to not lose rather than playing to win.

I am annoyed that the game is on a Monday night and we have to wait until then for a game but I suppose if we take the sky millions we have to put up with so changes to schedules etc. I’m not in the school of every game should be at 3 on a Saturday, as football on both weekend days is ok in my book. I do of course realise people have work commitments that mean they carny always get to games, but it’s worth it in my view.

The result at Stamford Bridge last Monday was the one I was hoping for as I didnt want to play the rags at Wembley, the same week of the derby, that would be just to much in my view. The FA Cup is a great opportunity for City to keep the momentum going in terms of trophies and I think that that would be a decent enough season should we win the cup and finish second in the league. Just think back a few years and 40 points was a major achievement, yes I know money brings expectation but lets be realistic and not dogmatic or stupid in our expectations.

We should pick our strongest team on Monday night and this means Vinnie and Nastasic at CB, with Zaba and Cliche at FB. Yaya and Barry should be in midfield with Silva and Nasri in the wider positions, and Aguero and Tevez upfront. Lets go for it, lets try and replicate last seasons performance and really show that we mean business and we are a force to be reckoned with and are up for the fight to the end of the season.

I’m immensely irritated by the continued speculation about the managers future, the guy has worked miracles work City and should lead us next season on our assault at the Premier League, and Champions League alike. I think the owners have learned and the changes behind the scenes give me more confidence that the strengthening that is to come in the team will be the right players rather than just new players, who knows what could have happened if the right players had arrived last close season.

There’s no criticism from me of Mancini, yes he’s tried things that haven’t come off but all managers have to try things, so for me he will be in charge come the start of next season.

Forza Mancini………..

20130406-140214.jpg

Leave a comment