Bloody Hurry Up

Bloody Hurry Up

We’ve had such a wonderful summer of sports, from a English / British perspective, but I can’t help thinking that the new season should BLOODY HURRY UP. There is one saving grace about this summer compared to the last one and that’s the early conclusion of the signings and what signings they are, more later.

The new season has always brought lots of optimism from me but I honestly think that this coming season will be a bloody good one for City, and I’m expecting some more silverware, but more importantly a more attractive brand of football, if we believe the hype, which I for one do.

Before we get to deep into the new season preview and thoughts I’d like to place on record my sincere thanks to Roberto Mancini for the work he did at City and the steps forward we took under his leadership. The guy delivered an FA Cup and a League Title, and a charity shield, the guy and always will be a legend in my mind. I’m not embarrassed to say that I was part of the advert in the Italian press as I wanted to do something, however small, to say thanks and ciao.

The early signs are that we have a new manager of some substance and class and he knows how to handle himself and the journalists, but the proof of the pudding will come when we start to play competitive games. His performance in the press conferences have been very assured, accepting that nothing difficult has happened yet, but his English is good and he looks like he can handle the journalists, even with their anti City agenda.

I think we are seeing what we could have predicted when we heard that Gollum was to take over at the Theatre of Shite and Mourinho was coming back to Chelski. Mourinho is a master of the mind game and his Rooney pronouncements are proof of that, but whether he gets his man only time will tell, but as always its all about Mourinho and not about the club, be warned Chelski.

The Gollum installation at the Theatre of Shite was a surprise as I really thought they would want a higher profile manager than Gollum, they are who they are after all. I will reserve judgement until later in the season but it looks, so far that the pull of this particular manager may not quite be as good as the previous, but they are who they are!!!

All this media hype around our rivals is great from a City perspective as we have gone about our business in a measured and determined way. I feel that City have landed the targets they set out to land and that this is despite the speculation linking us to every player in the western world and some beyond!!! My twitter timeline as been full of FIFA and Football Manager ITOs who know fuck all but like the sound of their own voice, wind your neck in lads, wait till the lad holds the shirt up before we get all excited. Maybe I’m too old for all that shite.

I have to say that I’m impressed with the way the club have handled the changes to the playing squad over the summer, we offloaded some really high earners bought by regimes gone by, as well as saying good bye to players I though where worthy of keeping but maybe outstayed their welcome, ill leave you to put names to faces etc. Lets just say that we have shrewed men men running our club both from the team management, the club management and also the owners, all top blokes.

We have strengthened the team in the areas I thought required attention, with the possible exception of Centre Half, but this gives a glimmer to Lescott, who I’m pleased is still at the club and also is looking to fight for a place in the starting line up. A box to box midfielder has been bought to add mobility and CL experience and add competition for places that allows the manager to mix it up in midfield. Width and pace have been sadly lacking recently and the signing of Navas is a great acquisition, and as my father would say “that lad can catch pigeons”. His performances in the Conferderations Cup where an exciting taster for the season to come. We have cried out for width against the “bus parking” teams and I really like the look of this lad, and he’s called Jesus!!!

I have to say that I’m surprised that Dżeko is still at City but there is no doubt the lad has talent, and I’m hopeful that Pellegrini can get the best out of him, as he clearly has some form of confidence thing that needs nurturing. Theres no doubt that he can score goalsa and his record speaks for it’s self, if you’d care to look. We all know Aguero is the business and I’m so chuffed that he is still a City player and I’m looking forward to him banging in the goals come the new season.

I have to say that I know very little about Negredo and Jovetic, beyond the YouTube clips and the odd game on tv in the CL. They have good records and I trust the managers judgement and am looking forward to seeing them play. It will be very interesting to see what combinations of players are tried first and in what games the combinations are given a run out. One things for sure, we have enough firepower for the new season, and I’m expecting goals, goals and more goals.

I was also expecting that Pantillimon would go as well but it looks very much like he will stay and fight for his place. I do believe he was very hard done by for not being started in the Cup Final, but he’s been able to get over that and stay at City, I think he’s a worthy understudy to Joe Hart. I think Joe Hart needs to think about his own performances last season, and I’m sure he has whilst on his holidays, but he is the best when he plays as we know he can.

One thing I know for sure and that’s the season will be upon us soon, but it just feels such a long time away, bloody hurry up!!!

Leave a comment