Today is the Day – City versus Newcastle

Well I bloody hate Monday night games especially with it being the first weekend of the league season. Everyone else has had a go and now it’s our turn, I have to admit to being slightly excited, I’m a grown man a know!!

I’ve blogged previously about the good way that City have gone about their business in the close season and now it’s time to turn that into a cracking start. We don’t want to be playing catch up so early in the campaign and on paper we do have a relatively easy start to this campaign.

We do have a cracking recent track record against Newcastle and I would expect that this is maintained tonight, but we should take nothing for granted.

I suspect that the team that will start will be an indication of how we expect to play at home on this sort of fixture. We have been promised exciting football but that shouldn’t mean everybody attacks and nobody defends. This is overly simplistic I know but all out attack can be a curse as well as a spectacular success. Pellegrini is not stupid and he will know that.

I think the pre season games where all about fitness and we have seen evidence over this first weekend of the league season that pre season wins doesn’t guarantee you first weekend wins – does it Arse!

For me the most interesting part of the game tonight is who starts and what formation will City play. There are some obvious choices, some not so.

The goalkeeper is one of the obvious choices, some people are questioning Joe Hart, but there’s no doubt he is still our best keeper and England’s number 1, so no more debate please.

The back four again I think is a standard pick although the right back spot could get interesting now Micah Richards is back fit and raring to go but then starting right back for me has to be Pablo Zabaletta.

The choices at CB are more limited and whilst Javi Garcia could slot into that spot I suspect that will be reserved for the dearly rounds of the Cup or in circumstances where we have no other choice. For tonight the CB pairing should be Kompany and Lescott.

The left back for the premier league games I think will be Gael Cliche and he’s proven that he is our best left back, but I have to say I expected re-inforcements over the summer but nothing as yet.

I have a feeling that the starting Centre Midfielders will be Yaya and Fernandinho, but this will change with games and competition I’m sure. The midfield and forward line are the tricky selection spots as we have such an array of talent in these positions it’s hard to second guess how we will play or who will be partnered with who.

Given that he has been our most creative player for a while now I think David Silva should get a start, playing predominantly left side allowing Jesus Navas to occupy the right winger type role.

Width and pace was what we cried out for last season and that has been rectified massively with the signing of Navas. I’m not sure who the Newcastle left back is going to be but if Navas does play on the City right wing he’s in for a torrid time and I’m sure he will be knackered at the end of the game.

Upfront is not easy to pick as again which have lots of attacking options and the four strikers all need games. I suspect Sergio Aguero will be on the bench tonight, given his lack of matches pre season and we don’t want a repeat of last seasons opener where he got injured very very early and was out for ages.

Based upon pre season I think Edin Džeko will start upfront as he’s been banging in the goals both for City and on international duty, so he’s the man really in form and should start for me. With Navas playing wider than we’ve had before and his crossing ability I expect this to play more into Džeko’s strengths and we all know he can score goals when in the mood to do so.

The final striking spot I would give to Negredo, he’s big and strong and with bags to talent and I’m sure he’s going to be a hit with the fans has he bags lots of goals but plays in a more British traditional Centre Forward type role. Jovetic will be on the bench but will come on in the second half maybe In a slightly withdrawn role or maybe just behind one of the main strikers depending upon if the barcodes park the bus or not.

So I’m eagerly awaiting the start of the season, I’m anticipating good things, but we need to be patient as change does take time.

Leave a comment